Usually ships 1-3 business days
Shipping options »
List Price $17.99

On Its Way
Order

Unpregnant

Unpregnant

"If John Hughes ever told a #MeToo movement story, this would be it. Veronica, the perfect high school student with the perfect boyfriend, perfect friends, and perfect grades, finds herself pregnant. When she convinces her ex-best friend to go on a 994 mile road trip to get a legal, safe abortion, the two of them encounter every possible obstacle. From meeting a pro-life stripper to stealing a car, the hilarious odyssey these girls go on would make Thelma and Louise proud. This book is for the generation whose access to safe abortion is rapidly dwindling, as a reminder that while it is difficult, no one is broken or monstrous for choosing to terminate."

Audrey S.

See all my recommendations »

Author Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
Publisher HarperTeen
Publication Date 2019-09-10
Section Young Adult (12 Up) / All Staff Suggestions / Fiction Suggestions / Audrey S.
Type New
Format
ISBN 9780062876249

Perfect for fans of Juno and Jennifer E. Smith comes this hysterically funny and heartfelt YA novel about fierce friendship, reproductive rights, and the wild road to adulthood. This breakout teen debut is from authors Jenni Hendriks (writer for How I Met Your Mother) and Ted Caplan (music editor for The Hate U Give, The Greatest Showman). Seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she'd want to fail a test--that is, until she finds herself staring at a piece of plastic with two solid pink lines. With a promising college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she'd have to make: an abortion. There's just one catch--the closest place to get one is over nine hundred miles away. With conservative parents, a . . . let's say less-than-optimal boyfriend, and no car, Veronica turns to the only person she believes won't judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High--and Veronica's ex-best friend. The plan is straightforward: a fourteen-hour drive to the clinic, three hours for the appointment, and a fourteen-hour drive home. What could go wrong? Not much, apart from three days of stolen cars, shot guns, crazed ex-boyfriends, aliens, ferret napping, and the pain and betrayal of a broken friendship that can't be outrun. Under the starlit skies of the American Southwest, Veronica and Bailey discover that sometimes the most important choice is who your friends are.

There are no customer reviews for this item yet.

Our Frequent Buyer Card

Members of our Frequent Buyer Program receive benefits at Harvard Book Store and harvard.com. Sign up for free!

Learn More »

Signed Books = Great Gifts!

Join our Signed First Edition Club (or give a gift subscription) for a signed book of great literary merit, delivered to you monthly.

Learn More »

Shipping & Delivery

Shipping rates
and options, locally
and throughout
the U.S.

Learn More »