Usually ships next business day
Shipping options »
Our Price $15.99
Hardcover
In Stock
Order

The Rose

The Rose

Author Jennifer Potter
Publisher Atlantic Books
Publication Date 2011-05-01
Section All Remainders / History
Type New
Format Hardcover
ISBN 9781848878341.RM

For fans of Anna Pavord's The Tulip and Andrea Wulf's The Brothers Gardener, a vividly written and lavishly illustrated history of the Queen of Flowers   Ever since Sappho planted roses at the shrine of Aphrodite, no flower has captured the imagination in quite the same way. Here, the acclaimed horticultural historian Jennifer Potter sets out on a quest to uncover the life of a flower that has been viewed so hetrogenously by different cultures in different countries across the centuries. Beginning her story in the Greek and Roman empires, she travels across Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and the Americas to unravel its evolution from a simple briar of the northern hemisphere to the height of cultivated perfection found in rose gardens today. Whether laying bare the flower's long association with sexuality and secret societies, questioning the Crusaders' role in bringing roses back from the Holy Land, or hunting for its elusive blooms in the gardens of the Empress Josephine at Malmaison, Jennifer Potter reveals why this flower, above all others, has provoked such fascination.

There are no customer reviews for this item yet.

Leave a Review

Subscribe

Author event updates +
book recommendations.
In your inbox, once a week.

Learn More »

Shipping & Delivery

Shipping rates
and options, locally
and throughout
the U.S.

Learn More »

Signed First Edition Club

A unique way for readers to create a wealth of great books—Get a membership for yourself or for a gift!

Learn More »