Usually ships next business day
Shipping options »
List Price $19.95
Hardcover
In Stock
Order

The Adulterants

The Adulterants

"A novel for a genuine roll-in-the-mud, smell-the-flowers, think-deeply-about-loss-and-love kind of enjoyment. Joe Dunthorne is part expert noticer, part deadpan comedian. The Adulterants is a whirlwind novel that holds you by the shoulder, makes you see what's wrong with our most intimate relationships will always be wrong, that so little changes, that's the truth of it, but hurt and isolation are part of growing up." 

Spencer R.

See all my recommendations »

Author Joe Dunthorne
Publisher Tin House Books
Publication Date 2018-03-06
Section New Hardcover - Fiction / All Staff Suggestions / Fiction Suggestions / Spencer R.
Type New
Format Hardcover
ISBN 9781941040874

For readers of Roddy Doyle, Nick Hornby, and Mark Haddon, The Adulterants is a piercingly funny?and cringingly poignant?take on how hard it is to grow up and how hard it is when you don’t.  Ray Morris is a tech journalist with a forgettable face, a tiresome manner, a small but dedicated group of friends, and a wife, Garthene, who is pregnant. He is a man who has never been punched above the neck. He has never committed adultery with his actual body. He has never been caught up in a riot, nor arrested, nor tagged by the state, nor become an international hate-figure. Not until the summer of 2011, when discontent is rising on the streets and within his marriage. Ray has noticed none of this. Not yet. The Adulterants would be a coming-of-age story if its protagonist could only forget that he is thirty-three years old. Throughout a series of escalating catastrophes, our deadpan antihero keeps up a merciless mental commentary on the foibles and failings of those around him, and the vicissitudes of modern urban life: internet trolls, buy-to-let landlords, open marriages, and the threat posed by more sensitive men. But the wonder of The Adulterants is how we feel ourselves rooting for Ray even as we acknowledge that he deserves everything he gets.

There are no customer reviews for this item yet.

Leave a Review

Our Frequent Buyer Card

Members of our Frequent Buyer Program receive benefits at Harvard Book Store and harvard.com. Sign up for free!

Learn More »

Subscribe

Author event updates +
book recommendations.
In your inbox, once a week.

Learn More »

Shipping & Delivery

Shipping rates
and options, locally
and throughout
the U.S.

Learn More »