Upcoming Event

KL Pereira and Minna Zallman Proctor

discuss

A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality

and 

Landslide: True Stories

This event includes a book signing

Date

Oct
18
Wednesday
October 18, 2017
7:00 PM

Location

Harvard Book Store
1256 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138

Tickets

This event is free; no tickets are required.

Harvard Book Store welcomes writer, poet, and teacher KL PEREIRA and writer, critic, and translator MINNA ZALLMAN PROCTOR for a discussion of their books, A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality and Landslide: True Stories.

About A Dream Between Two Rivers

Both literary and speculative, both magically real and viscerally strange in the tradition of Angela Carter, Karen Russell, and Jorge Luis Borges. In this collection, KL Pereira weaves elements of fairy tale, folklore, and myth into the lives of women, children, and immigrants. Her lucid prose underscores the tenacity of those who are most vulnerable, who live on edges between neat and clear definitions of who they are and who they want to be. Free of normative ideas of gender, class, race, and sexuality, Pereira explores rebirth amidst darkness.

About Landslide

Minna Zallman Proctor's Landslide is a captivating collection of interconnected personal essays. These “true stories” explore the author’s complicated relationship with her mother―who was diagnosed with cancer at age fifty-seven and died fifteen years later―and the ways in which their connection was long the “prime mover” of Proctor’s life, the subtle force coursing beneath her adulthood. As such, these vibrant essays also narrate the trials and triumphs of Proctor’s own life―shifting between America and Italy (and loving “being a foreigner, the constant sense of unfamiliarity that supplanted all of my expectations and disappointments”), her bumpy first marriage, the profound pleasure she takes in motherhood, and the confounding experience of trying to arrange a Jewish burial for her “Jewish, not quite Jewish” mother.

Proctor has an integrity and humor that is never extinguished despite life’s mounting difficulties. She also slyly questions her own narrative throughout. “Not having told this story before means I never fixed many details in my memory,” she writes. “[I] have to rely on flashes, the transparent stills that hang in my mind, made of smell, the way the light casts, the wind on skin.” The essays in this book are a sharply intelligent exploration of what happens when death and divorce unmoor you from certainties, and about the unreliable stories we tell ourselves, and others, in order to live.

Praise for A Dream Between Two Rivers

"A Dream Between Two Rivers is a precious gem all its own. Folk tales, experimental literature, speculative fiction, and mythology whether invented or neoclassical, all play together here gorgeously. The ghosts of Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Jose Donoso, Leonora Carrington, and Octavia Butler haunt this potent collection by an author of boundless imaginative gifts. Imagine a poet and painter in another dimension possessed by fever dreams and trying to tell our stories, and that will bring you only somewhere close to the magic of KL Pereira." —Porochista Khakpour, author of The Last Illusion and Sick

"Once this collection gripped me in its maw, it was impossible to put down and haunted my dreams for days after I was done reading. Each of Pereira's stories is stranger than the last and, through their explorations of identity, desire, and purpose, expose some deep truths about us as individuals. Lyrical, visceral, and taut, A Dream Between Two Rivers is a master work of a fever dream." —Lane Jacobson, Flyleaf Books

"KL Pereira's A Dream Between Two Rivers is a wonderfully dark, evocative, mischievous collection. Pereira expertly reinvents familiar favorites and prods at the boundaries of genre with a unique, eloquent voice. With wit and compassion, Pereira unflinchingly explores what it means to be human." —Paul Tremblay, bestselling author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Disappearance at Devil's Rock

Praise for Landslide

“Landslide is that rare book that somehow succeeds in being both knowing and open-hearted, both formally sly and emotionally direct. Its timeless subjects―grief, storytelling, the giving up of childish things―are rendered in ways that are as movingly honest as they are probing and unfamiliar. A swift, compelling read.” ―Adam Haslett, author of Imagine Me Gone

"Minna Proctor's voice recalls Vivian Gornick and Rachel Cusk. I know of no one writing more bravely and acutely about the intricate bonds of family, and the ways that we wound and heal the ones closest to us. The reader is left craving more time in the narrator's calm, authoritative presence, which redeems the world even as she reveals its heartbreaking cruelty." ―Emily Gould, author of Friendship

"Landslide is candid, moving, and wholly original: The beauty of Proctor’s prose is matched by the depth of her insights into life and literature, love and loss." ―Rosie Schaap, author of Drinking With Men: A Memoir

KL Pereira
KL Pereira

KL Pereira

KL Pereira's chapbook, Impossible Wolves, was published by Deathless Press in 2013. Her fiction, poetry, and nonfiction are forthcoming or appear in Shimmer Magazine, The Golden Key, Innsmouth Free Press, Innsmouth Magazine, Mythic Delirium, Jabberwocky, The Medulla Review, Bitch Magazine, and other publications. Pereira’s work on fairy tales, sexuality, Wonder Woman, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer are featured on Studio 360 and other radio programs, cited in numerous publications, and assigned in courses all over the United States and Canada. She is a member of the New England Horror Writers Association. Find Pereira online at klpereira.com and @kl_pereira and in person at Grub Street where she is the Manager of The Grub Daily, a blog for the whole writer, and a long-time instructor of amazing adult and teen writers.

Minna Zallman Proctor
Minna Zallman Proctor

Minna Zallman Proctor

Minna Zallman Proctor is a writer, critic, and translator who currently teaches creative writing at Fairleigh Dickinson University, where she is also editor in chief of The Literary Review. She is also the author of Do You Hear What I Hear? An Unreligious Writer Investigates Religious Calling and has translated eight books from Italian, including Fleur Jaeggy’s These Possible Lives (forthcoming from New Directions in July 2017). She lives in Brooklyn.

Photo credit: Sandra Dawn

Harvard Book Store
1256 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138

Walking from the Harvard Square T station: 2 minutes

As you exit the station, reverse your direction and walk east along Mass. Ave. in front of the Cambridge Savings Bank. Cross Dunster St. and proceed along Mass. Ave for three more blocks. You will pass Au Bon Pain, JP Licks, and TD Bank. Harvard Book Store is located at the corner of Mass. Ave. and Plympton St.

Unable to attend a Harvard Book Store author event? You can still pre-order a signed book by one of our visiting authors.

While we can't guarantee fulfillment of a signed book pre-order, our authors are almost always able to sign extra books to fulfill such orders.

Ordering a signed book on harvard.com:

  • Add the book to your shopping cart and then click Checkout.
  • Specify in Order Comments that you want a signed copy of the book.
  • Please note: online orders for signed copies must be placed at least one business day before the event. If you are ordering the day of, please call us instead.

Ordering a signed book by phone:

  • Call us at (617) 661-1515 and one of our booksellers will take your order. Specify you'd like a signed copy.
  • If you are requesting a personalized inscription and/or requesting your book be shipped, we'll need to take down credit card information. If you are planning to pick up the signed book in the store, you can pay on pick-up.

FAQ:

Can I request a personalized inscription?
Unless otherwise noted, we are happy to take requests for the author to sign your book to a specific person, but we can't guarantee it. If you do get a personalized inscription, the book will be non-returnable. We will require credit card information when you place the order.

Do signed books cost more?
There is no extra fee for a signed book!

Do I have to pick it up in the store, or can you deliver my signed book?
As with all web or phone orders, we can hold your book for in-store pickup, or ship it anywhere in the country.

I am planning to attend an author event. Do I need to pre-order a book?
No need. We'll be selling books at the event, and nearly all of our events include a signing at the end of the talk.

More questions? Give us a call!

Purchase the Book
Featured event books will be for sale at the event for 20% off. Thank you for supporting this author series with your purchases.
General Info
(617) 661-1515
info@harvard.com

Media Inquiries
(617) 661-1424 x6
mediainquiries@harvard.com

Accessibility Inquiries
access@harvard.com

Subscribe

Author event updates +
book recommendations.
In your inbox, once a week.

Learn More »

Shipping & Delivery

Shipping rates
and options, locally
and throughout
the U.S.

Learn More »

Signed First Edition Club

A unique way for readers to create a wealth of great books—Get a membership for yourself or for a gift!

Learn More »