Thanks for shopping indie!
Shipping options »
List Price $17.99
Hardcover
In Stock
Order
Chlorine Sky

Chlorine Sky

"Longtime organizer, writer and educator in the NYC spoken word poetry scene, Mahogany L. Browne brings us her first YA novel in verse. Fans of Jason Reynolds and Elizabeth Acevedo will love this fast paced story about a young Black teenager coming of age and finding her true self among a tangle of rumors, bullies, boys, and a toxic friendship. This story illustrates so perfectly those intense feelings of love and betrayal in tight-knit friendships that are so powerful for teenage girls, and addresses the specific experience Black girls in the U.S. face growing up surrounded by racism, colorism and the patriarchy. Simultaneously particular and universal, Chlorine Sky is a gift to read or listen to: Browne narrates the audiobook herself, with expert delivery. 'I realize a girl’s mouth is a weapon. Now I realize being a girl is heavy business.'"

Kaleigh O.

See all my recommendations »

Author Mahogany l. Browne
Publisher Crown Books For Young Readers
Publication Date 2021-01-12
Section Young Adult (12 Up) / All Staff Suggestions / Suggestions for Kids / Kaleigh O.
Type New
Format Hardcover
ISBN 9780593176399

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

“Mahogany L. Browne’s debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless.” -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My eyes don’t dance like my heartbeat racing
They stare straight back hot daggers.
I remember things will never be the same.
I remember things.

With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.

There are no customer reviews for this item yet.

Shipping & Curbside Pickup

We ship anywhere in the U.S. and orders of $75+ ship free via media mail!

Learn More »

New This Week

Shop this week's new arrivals, updated every Tuesday.

Learn More »

Noteworthy Signed Books: Join the Club!

Join our Signed First Edition Club (or give a gift subscription) for a signed book of great literary merit, delivered to you monthly.

Learn More »