Thanks for shopping indie!
Shipping options »
Member Price $22.40
List Price $28.00
Hardcover
In Stock
Order
Hokuloa Road

Hokuloa Road

"As the new caretaker of an isolated estate on one of the Hawaiian Islands, Grady Kendall is about as far from his old life as a small town Maine handyman as he could possibly get. But soon after arriving at the estate on Hokuloa Road Grady realizes that the paradise he's entered is not all that it appears to be - in fact, lurking beneath the idyllic surface is a dark mystery full of missing people, suspicious locals, and a billionaire hiding dangerous secrets. The setting is so vivid you can almost smell the salt water. A really mesmerizing thriller!"

Alex R.

See all my recommendations »

Author Elizabeth Hand
Publisher Mulholland Books
Publication Date 2022-07-19
Section Mystery / All Staff Suggestions / Fiction Suggestions / Alex R.
Type New
Format Hardcover
ISBN 9780316542043

A young man is drawn into the dark side of paradise in this "brilliantly atmospheric" (New York Times Book Review) and "refreshingly creepy" (Washington Post) mystery.

A New York Times Notable Book of 2022

On a whim, Grady Kendall applies to work as a live-in caretaker for a luxury property in HawaiÊ»i, as far from his small-town Maine life as he can imagine. Within days he's flying out to an estate on remote Hokuloa Road, where he quickly uncovers a dark side to the island’s idyllic reputation: it has long been a place where people vanish without a trace.

When a young woman from his flight becomes the next to disappear, Grady is determined—and soon desperate—to figure out what's happened to Jessie, and to all those staring out of the island’s “missing" posters. But working with Raina, Jessie’s fiercely protective best friend, to uncover the truth is anything but easy, and with an inexplicable and sinister presence stalking his every step, Grady can only hope he'll find the answer before it's too late.

Perfect for fans of Peter Heller and The White Lotus, and from award-winning writer Elizabeth Hand, a master of crime fiction known for her magnetic characters, seductive prose, and fearless excavations into the darkest corners of our world, comes a chilling and illuminating new novel about a place unlike any other—and the deadly cost of keeping it so.

"Set in a Hawaii so vividly imagined I'm still shaking sand out of my shoes."—Grady Hendrix, New York Times bestselling author of The Final Girl Support Group

“Twisty and dark . . . easily one of the best thrillers I've read.” —Rachel Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs

There are no customer reviews for this item yet.

Classic Totes

Tote bags and pouches
in a variety of styles,
sizes, and designs
, plus mugs, bookmarks, and more!

Learn More »

Shipping & Pickup

We ship anywhere in the U.S. and orders of $75+ ship free via media mail!

Learn More »

Noteworthy Signed Books: Join the Club!

Join our Signed First Edition Club (or give a gift subscription) for a signed book of great literary merit, delivered to you monthly.

Learn More »