Thanks for shopping indie!
Shipping options »
List Price $29.99

In Stock
Order
The Nature of Our Cities

The Nature of Our Cities

Author Nadina Galle
Publisher Mariner Books
Publication Date 2024-06-18
Section New Hardcover - Nonfiction / Urban Studies
Type New
Format
ISBN 9780063322615

In the tradition of Elizabeth Kolbert and Jonathan Doerr, The Nature of Our Cities is a stirring exploration of how scientists from around the world are harnessing local ecology and innovative technology to protect the planet's cities from the effects of climate change. When it comes to nature, most people romanticize bucolic mountain scenery and verdant pine forests, but anyone who's ever lived in a city can tell you that nature has just as vital a role to play in urban landscapes. And with climate change altering life and mental health everywhere, nature can do more to aid and protect our cities, offering the potential to solve problems as diverse as flood preparation and wildfire management. As ecological engineer Dr. Nadina Galle argues, nature is our most critical infrastructure for tackling the climate crisis. It just needs a little help. A fellow at MIT's Senseable City Lab and selected for Forbes' 30 under 30 list, Galle has been at the forefront of the growing movement to use nature and technology together to prepare urban life for the climate challenges upon us. Now, in The Nature of Our Cities, she embarks on a journey as fascinating as it is pressing, showing how scientists and engineers from around the world are harnessing the power of technology and the natural world to save their cities, a phenomenon she calls the "Internet of Nature." Traveling the globe, Galle examines how urban nature, long an afterthought for many, actually points the way toward a livable future for cities. She reveals how technology can help nature navigate this precarious moment with advances such as: Firefighting robots inspired by ancient forest wisdom Sensors that achieve 99% tree survival in increasingly dry, hot summers Innovative smart ponds that collect and manage water surges from extreme weather Optimistic in spirit yet pragmatic in approach, Galle writes persuasively that the future of urban life depends on balancing the natural world with the technology that can help sustain it. By turns clear-eyed and lyrical, The Nature of Our Cities marks the emergence of an invigorating, prescient new talent in nature writing.

There are no customer reviews for this item yet.

Classic Totes

Tote bags and pouches
in a variety of styles,
sizes, and designs
, plus mugs, bookmarks, and more!

Learn More »

Shipping & Pickup

We ship anywhere in the U.S. and orders of $75+ ship free via media mail!

Learn More »

Noteworthy Signed Books: Join the Club!

Join our Signed First Edition Club (or give a gift subscription) for a signed book of great literary merit, delivered to you monthly.

Learn More »