Upcoming Virtual Event

Virtual Event: Anjali Enjeti

presenting

The Parted Earth:
A Novel

in conversation with MICHELLE BOWDLER

Date

May
7
Friday
May 7, 2021
7:00 PM

Location

Join our online event (or pre-register) via the link in the event description.

Tickets

Free - $5 contribution suggested at registration

Harvard Book Store's virtual event series and Grubstreet welcome ANJALI ENJETI—writer, activist, and author of the forthcoming essay collection Southbound: Essays on Identity, Inheritance, and Social Change—for a discussion of her debut novel, The Parted Earth. She will be joined in conversation by MICHELLE BOWDLER, Executive Director of Health & Wellness at Tufts University and author of Is Rape a Crime?: A Memoir, an Investigation, and a Manifesto.

Contribute to Support Harvard Book Store

While payment is not required, we are suggesting a $5 contribution to support this author series, our staff, and the future of Harvard Book Store—a locally owned, independently run Cambridge institution. In addition, by purchasing a copy of The Parted Earth on harvard.com, you support indie bookselling and the writing community during this difficult time.

Click here to join!

About The Parted Earth

The story begins in August 1947. Unrest plagues the streets of New Delhi leading up to the birth of the Muslim majority nation of Pakistan, and the Hindu majority nation of India. Sixteen-year-old Deepa navigates the changing politics of her home, finding solace in messages of intricate origami from her secret boyfriend Amir. Soon Amir flees with his family to Pakistan and a tragedy forces Deepa to leave the subcontinent forever.

The story also begins sixty years later and half a world away, in Atlanta. While grieving both a pregnancy loss and the implosion of her marriage, Deepa’s granddaughter Shan begins the search for her estranged grandmother, a prickly woman who had little interest in knowing her. As she pieces together her family history shattered by the Partition, Shan discovers how little she actually knows about the women in her family and what they endured.

For readers of Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins, The Parted Earth follows Shan on her search for identity after loss uproots her life. Above all, it is a novel about families weathering the lasting violence of separation, and how it can often takes a lifetime to find unity and peace.

Praise for The Parted Earth

"The Parted Earth is an epic novel of home and homeland, family and community, love and betrayal. In Anjali Enjeti’s deft hands, the story of a woman’s search for her grandfather, and for a connection to the ancestors, is brought to life. A fantastic debut." —Laila Lalami, author of The Other Americans

"In this captivating, far-reaching debut, Anjali Enjeti brings to life one family's decades-long search for love, peace and a place to call home." —Jenny Offill, Weather

"Epic in scope, intimate in the telling, Anjali Enjeti's The Parted Earth is a devastating portrayal of Partition and the trauma it wreaked in the generations that followed. The gripping love story of Deepa and Amir cuts across decades, in a journey through New Delhi, London, Atlanta and across the Indian diaspora. A magnificent debut." —Vanessa Hua, author of A River of Stars

Anjali Enjeti
Anjali Enjeti

Anjali Enjeti

Anjali Enjeti is a former attorney, journalist, and activist. Her work has appeared in the Boston Globe, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, Paris Review, The Nation, the Atlanta Journal Constitution, and elsewhere. She has received awards from the American Society of Journalists and Authors, the South Asian Journalists Association, and fellowships from the Hambidge Center and Sundress Academy of the Arts. Her essay collection about identity and activism is forthcoming from the University of Georgia Press. She teaches creative nonfiction in the MFA program at Reinhart University and lives outside of Atlanta, GA with her family.

Michelle Bowdler
Michelle Bowdler

Michelle Bowdler

Michelle Bowdler is the Executive Director of Health & Wellness at Tufts University and, after graduating from the Harvard School of Public Health, has worked on social justice issues related to rape for over a decade. She is a recipient of a 2017 Barbara Deming Memorial Award and has been a Fellow at Ragdale and the MacDowell Colony. Michelle’s writing has been published in the New York Times and her essays “Eventually You Tell Your Kids” and “Babelogue” were nominated for Pushcart Prizes.

Photo Credit: Alonso Nichols

 

Join our online event (or pre-register) via the link in the event description.
Event Series: New Voices in Fiction

Harvard Book Store's New Voices in Fiction series, presented with GrubStreet, highlights debut fiction writers discussing their work and the writing process.

GrubStreet is one of the nation's leading creative writing centers, offering 500+ classes a year in all genres, for writers of all levels. We believe that narrative transforms lives, builds bridges, and produces empathy. By rigorously developing voices of every type and talent and by removing barriers to entry, GrubStreet fosters the creation of meaningful stories and ensures that excellent writing remains vital and relevant. To learn more or find a class, visit grubstreet.org.

General Info
(617) 661-1515
info@harvard.com

Media Inquiries
mediainquiries@harvard.com

Accessibility Inquiries
access@harvard.com

Sorry for the inconvenience!

We'll be closed on Monday, April 12 for our annual store inventory. Web orders placed on harvard.com after 3pm ET on Saturday, April 10, and at any time on Sunday, April 11, will not be processed until Tuesday, April 13.

Learn More »

Shipping & Curbside Pickup

We ship anywhere in the U.S. and orders of $75+ ship free via media mail!

Learn More »

New This Week

Shop this week's new arrivals, updated every Tuesday.

Learn More »