• Lunatic

    by Dan Mazur
    Price $20.00
    Hardcover
    In Stock
    Order
    Lunatic

Virtual Event: Dan Mazur

presenting

Lunatic

in conversation with WHIT TAYLOR

Date

Jan
28
Thursday
January 28, 2021
7:00 PM

Location

Join our online event (or pre-register) via the link in the event description.

Tickets

Free - $3 contribution suggested at registration

Harvard Book Store's virtual event series welcomes acclaimed cartoonist and editor DAN MAZUR—cofounder of the Boston Comics Roundtable and MICE: the Massachusetts Independent Comics Expo—for a discussion of his latest graphic novel, Lunatic. He will be joined in conversation by Ignatz-Award winning cartoonist WHIT TAYLOR, author of the forthcoming Harriet: Toward Freedom.

Contribute to Support Harvard Book Store

While payment is not required, we are suggesting a $3 contribution to support this author series, our staff, and the future of Harvard Book Store—a locally owned, independently run Cambridge institution. In addition, by purchasing a copy of Lunatic on harvard.com, you support indie bookselling and the writing community during this difficult time.

Click here to join!

About Lunatic

The moonstruck Lunatic is an unusual and striking graphic novel in the tradition of wordless books by the likes of Frans Masereel, Lynd Ward and William Gropper. Part fable, part classic adventure in the tradition of Jules Verne, H. G. Wells and Méliès, the tale is told in nearly 200 full-page, wordless images in a variety of media from pencil, pen and ink, ink wash and paint that lovingly evoke the artistic styles of its period setting, and classic illustrators from Charles Dana Gibson and Toulouse Lautrec to Edward Gorey.

The word “lunatic” derives from Latin, meaning “of the moon”, or “moonstruck” and in this sense it describes the protagonist of this story: from infancy she develops a magical, almost intimate relationship with the moon itself, a celestial being who acts as her friend, lover, mentor. Our heroine is a dreamer, an outsider, never feeling like she quite belongs to this world. We follow her through the stages of life, infancy, childhood, youth and adulthood, at each point guided by the moon toward a fateful journey and an unexpected destiny. A timeless and charming story of longing, loneliness and the pursuit of dreams.

Dan Mazur
Dan Mazur

Dan Mazur

Dan Mazur is an independent cartoonist, journalist, teacher, screenwriter and editor. Co-founder of the Boston Comics Roundtable, and MICE: the Massachusetts Independent Comics Expo. He has edited the comics anthologies, Inbound, Show and Tell, In a Single Bound, and the Greatest of All Time Comics Anthology. Articles on comics have appeared in the Boston Phoenix and the International Journal of Comic Art. He is the co-writer of Comics: A Global History, published in 2014 by Thames & Hudson. He has taught comic art at the Art Institute of Boston, the Cambridge Center for Adult Education and the Brookline Arts Center, as well as screenwriting at UCLA Extension School.

Whit Taylor
Whit Taylor

Whit Taylor

Whit Taylor is an Ignatz-Award winning cartoonist, editor, and public health educator from New Jersey. Her comics have been published by The Nib, The New Yorker, Ninth Art Press, Radiator Comics, Rosarium Publishing, and others. She is currently a contributing editor at The Nib. Her graphic novel with Kazimir Lee, Harriet: Toward Freedom, will be published by Little, Brown Young Readers in 2021.

 

Join our online event (or pre-register) via the link in the event description.
Event Series: Virtual Event Series

Harvard Book Store’s award-winning event series continues online! Named "Best of Boston: 2020 Best Virtual Author Series" by Boston magazine.

General Info
(617) 661-1515
info@harvard.com

Media Inquiries
mediainquiries@harvard.com

Accessibility Inquiries
access@harvard.com

Shipping & Curbside Pickup

We ship anywhere in the U.S. and orders of $75+ ship free via media mail!

Learn More »

New This Week

Shop this week's new arrivals, updated every Tuesday.

Learn More »

Noteworthy Signed Books: Join the Club!

Join our Signed First Edition Club (or give a gift subscription) for a signed book of great literary merit, delivered to you monthly.

Learn More »