Allison Yarrow

presents

90s Bitch:
Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality

in conversation with STEVE ALMOND

This event includes a book signing

Date

Aug
1
Wednesday
August 1, 2018
7:00 PM

Location

Harvard Book Store
1256 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138

Tickets

This event is free; no tickets are required.

Harvard Book Store welcomes award-winning journalist ALLISON YARROW for a discussion of her latest book, 90s Bitch: Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality. She will be joined in conversation by award-winning author and journalist STEVE ALMOND.

About 90s Bitch

To understand how we got here, we have to rewind the VHS tape. 90s Bitch tells the real story of women and girls in the 1990s, exploring how they were maligned by the media, vilified by popular culture, and objectified in the marketplace. Trailblazing women like Hillary Clinton, Anita Hill, and Marcia Clark were undermined. Newsmakers like Monica Lewinsky, Tonya Harding, and Lorena Bobbitt were shamed and misunderstood. The advent of the 24-hour news cycle reinforced society's deeply entrenched sexism. Meanwhile, marketers hijacked feminism and poisoned girlhood for a generation of young women.

Today, there are echoes of 90s “bitchification” nearly everywhere we look. To understand why, we must revisit and interrogate the 1990s—a decade in which female empowerment was twisted into objectification, exploitation, and subjugation.

Yarrow’s thoughtful, juicy, and timely examination is a must-read for anyone trying to understand 21st-century sexism and end it for the next generation.

Praise

“Allison Yarrow is a feminist and a muckraker in the tradition of Betty Friedan, Naomi Klein, and bell hooks. Her enthralling new book, 90s Bitch, takes a long overdue sledgehammer (and, when needed, a scalpel) to the misogynistic myths that cloud our view of that troubling decade. Like all great cultural historians, she examines every sordid cranny of our culture—its sexual mores, its pop culture and rampant consumerism—so as to lay bare the marching orders issued by the patriarchy: that women should shut up and put out, sell out, sell themselves short, and most of all obey. Yarrow’s prose is brilliant, her insights are razor-sharp, and her moral aim is essential. If America is ever going to recover from the Trumpian tailspin wrought by masculine insecurity, we need feminists like Allison Yarrow keeping us all honest.” —Steve Almond, author of Bad Stories: What the Hell Just Happened to Our Country

90s Bitch is a book we need right now. Allison Yarrow takes the full measure of misogyny in America—then and now—and she KO’s it like the champion she is. This is a thrilling read, smart and lyrical and—above all—necessary. The book would be on my recommended reading list at any time, but during the Trump era it should be mandatory.” —Darin Strauss, NBCC-winning author of Half A Life

“Amidst the revelations of #MeToo, it’s sometimes easy to forget that we’re in the midst of a feminist backlash. The best way to prevent that backlash from expanding and overtaking the movement is to study and learn from the (very recent) past. Which is precisely why 90s Bitch is essential reading for every feminist—a wakeup call for those who don’t remember how rapidly society at large embraced the postfeminist moment, and a punch in the stomach to those who remember it.” —Anne Helen Petersen, author of Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud

Allison Yarrow
Allison Yarrow

Allison Yarrow

Allison Yarrow is an award-winning journalist and National Magazine Award finalist whose work has appeared in the New York Times, the Washington Post, Vox, and many others. She was a TED resident and is a grantee of the International Women’s Media Foundation. She produced the Vice documentary Misconception and has appeared on the Today show, MSNBC, NPR, and more. Allison was raised in Macon, Georgia and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Steve Almond
Steve Almond

Steve Almond

Steve Almond is the author of eight books of fiction and non-fiction, including the New York Times best sellers Candyfreak and Against Football. His essays, reviews, and short stories have appeared in the New York Times Magazine, the Boston Globe, the Washington Post, the Best American Short Stories, and elsewhere. He teaches at the Nieman Fellowship for Journalism at Harvard and hosts the New York Times podcast “Dear Sugars” with fellow writer Cheryl Strayed.

Harvard Book Store
1256 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138

Walking from the Harvard Square T station: 2 minutes

As you exit the station, reverse your direction and walk east along Mass. Ave. in front of the Cambridge Savings Bank. Cross Dunster St. and proceed along Mass. Ave for three more blocks. You will pass Au Bon Pain, JP Licks, and TD Bank. Harvard Book Store is located at the corner of Mass. Ave. and Plympton St.

Unable to attend a Harvard Book Store author event? You can still pre-order a signed book by one of our visiting authors.

While we can't guarantee fulfillment of a signed book pre-order, our authors are almost always able to sign extra books to fulfill such orders.

Ordering a signed book on harvard.com:

  • Add the book to your shopping cart and then click Checkout.
  • Specify in Order Comments that you want a signed copy of the book.
  • Please note: online orders for signed copies must be placed at least one business day before the event. If you are ordering the day of, please call us instead.

Ordering a signed book by phone:

  • Call us at (617) 661-1515 and one of our booksellers will take your order. Specify you'd like a signed copy.
  • If you are requesting a personalized inscription and/or requesting your book be shipped, we'll need to take down credit card information. If you are planning to pick up the signed book in the store, you can pay on pick-up.

FAQ:

Can I request a personalized inscription?
Unless otherwise noted, we are happy to take requests for the author to sign your book to a specific person, but we can't guarantee it. If you do get a personalized inscription, the book will be non-returnable. We will require credit card information when you place the order.

Do signed books cost more?
There is no extra fee for a signed book!

Do I have to pick it up in the store, or can you deliver my signed book?
As with all web or phone orders, we can hold your book for in-store pickup, or ship it anywhere in the country.

I am planning to attend an author event. Do I need to pre-order a book?
No need. We'll be selling books at the event, and nearly all of our events include a signing at the end of the talk.

More questions? Give us a call!

Purchase the Book
Featured event books will be for sale at the event. Thank you for supporting this author series with your purchases.
General Info
(617) 661-1515
info@harvard.com

Media Inquiries
mediainquiries@harvard.com

Accessibility Inquiries
access@harvard.com

Subscribe

Author event updates +
book recommendations.
In your inbox, once a week.

Learn More »

Shipping & Delivery

Shipping rates
and options, locally
and throughout
the U.S.

Learn More »

Signed First Edition Club

A unique way for readers to create a wealth of great books—Get a membership for yourself or for a gift!

Learn More »