Jo Paquette at Harvard Book Store

presenting

Stories I Told My Dead Lover

in conversation with SOFIA T. ROMERO

Date

Jun
13
Thursday
June 13, 2024
7:00 PM ET

Location

Harvard Book Store
1256 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138

Tickets

This event is free; no tickets are required.

Harvard Book Store welcomes JO PAQUETTE— a senior literary agent and Massachusetts Book Award-nominated author who has published over a dozen books—for a discussion of her new book Stories I Told My Dead Lover. She will be joined in conversation by SOFIA T. ROMERO—Pushcart Prize-nominated author of We Have Always Been Who We Are.

About Stories I Told My Dead Lover

Perfect for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link, Jo Paquette’s Stories I Told My Dead Lover contains eight searing tales of psychological horror that probe the darkest and most deeply buried parts of the human psyche.

A child is forced to grow up too soon. A woman trusts her doctor too much. An abandoned woman isn’t as alone as she thinks. An idyllic holiday masks an unspeakable act of violence. Driven, desperate, fighting for the power to choose their own fate, Paquette’s characters dare to push back at the walls that hold them in. Come watch them burn.

Praise for Stories I Told My Dead Lover

"Paquette was born to write horror. These subtle, varied stories are sometimes creepy, sometimes hilarious, but always unexpected, and the sharp writing took my breath away. I could not stop reading.” —Nancy Werlin, Edgar Award winner and New York Times bestselling novelist

“Combine Joe Hill’s sense of the macabre with Karen Russel’s dark whimsy, and you get Stories I Told My Dead Lover by Jo Paquette. These stories lodge in the imagination like splinters, and must be examined and returned to, time and again.” —Erin Dionne, acclaimed author of Bad Choices Make Good Stories

“Paquette’s stories are eerie and enigmatic, at times darkly funny, and always unpredictable. This is a strong collection of unsettling tales.” —Tom Perrotta, bestselling author of Tracy Flick Can’t Win and The Leftovers

“A quick yet haunting read, this suspenseful collection will hit the right note for fans of horror.” —Booklist

Masking Policy

Masks are encouraged but not required for this event.

Jo Paquette
Jo Paquette

Jo Paquette

Ammi-Joan Paquette is the author of eighteen books for young readers, including the novel The Train of Lost Things (Philomel, 2018), which was a 2019 Ontario Library Association’s Silver Birch Award nominee, a 2020 Rhode Island Children’s Book Award nominee, and is currently being adapted into a major motion picture (optioned by Mattel). Her writing has received recognition from Junior Library Guild, reviewed in the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, and has been translated into seven languages. In her non-writing life, Joan is a Senior Literary Agent with Erin Murphy Literary Agency, where she represents a list of New York Times bestselling and award-winning authors and illustrators.

Sofia T. Romero
Sofia T. Romero

Sofia T. Romero

Sofia T. Romero is the author of We Have Always Been Who We Are. She is also a Pushcart Prize nominee and has published work in Necessary Fiction, Blue Mountain Review, Rigorous, and Waterwheel Review. She lives in the Boston area, where she works as an editor. Visit her website at www.SofiaTRomero.com.

Harvard Book Store
1256 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138

Walking from the Harvard Square T station: 2 minutes

As you exit the station, reverse your direction and walk east along Mass. Ave. in front of the Cambridge Savings Bank. Cross Dunster St. and proceed along Mass. Ave for three more blocks. You will pass Au Bon Pain, JP Licks, and TD Bank. Harvard Book Store is located at the corner of Mass. Ave. and Plympton St.

Unable to attend a Harvard Book Store author event? You can still pre-order a signed book by one of our visiting authors.

While we can't guarantee fulfillment of a signed book pre-order, our authors are almost always able to sign extra books to fulfill such orders.

Ordering a signed book on harvard.com:

  • Add the book to your shopping cart and then click Checkout.
  • Specify in Order Comments that you want a signed copy of the book.
  • Please note: online orders for signed copies must be placed at least one business day before the event. If you are ordering the day of, please call us instead.

Ordering a signed book by phone:

  • Call us at (617) 661-1515 and one of our booksellers will take your order. Specify you'd like a signed copy.
  • If you are requesting a personalized inscription and/or requesting your book be shipped, we'll need to take down credit card information. If you are planning to pick up the signed book in the store, you can pay on pick-up.

FAQ:

Can I request a personalized inscription?
Unless otherwise noted, we are happy to take requests for the author to sign your book to a specific person, but we can't guarantee it. If you do get a personalized inscription, the book will be non-returnable. We will require credit card information when you place the order.

Do signed books cost more?
There is no extra fee for a signed book!

Do I have to pick it up in the store, or can you deliver my signed book?
As with all web or phone orders, we can hold your book for in-store pickup, or ship it anywhere in the country.

I am planning to attend an author event. Do I need to pre-order a book?
No need. We'll be selling books at the event, and nearly all of our events include a signing at the end of the talk.

More questions? Give us a call!

General Info
(617) 661-1515
info@harvard.com

Media Inquiries
mediainquiries@harvard.com

Accessibility Inquiries
access@harvard.com

Classic Totes

Tote bags and pouches
in a variety of styles,
sizes, and designs
, plus mugs, bookmarks, and more!

Learn More »

Shipping & Pickup

We ship anywhere in the U.S. and orders of $75+ ship free via media mail!

Learn More »

Noteworthy Signed Books: Join the Club!

Join our Signed First Edition Club (or give a gift subscription) for a signed book of great literary merit, delivered to you monthly.

Learn More »